Skip to contentAltstamp
Menu

Accessible Shopify themes: six themes checked against what a theme controls

No Shopify theme is “ADA compliant” out of the box, and nobody certifies one. A theme decides the code around your products: whether a skip link comes first, whether you can see where focus is, whether the menu and the cart drawer work from the keyboard. We read what six makers actually document, then scanned their demo stores ourselves. Your photos, colours and apps still decide the rest, and the fix order for an owner covers them.

Line drawing of a shop page on a monitor, one add button ringed in orange
Fig. 1A shop page on a monitor with one add button ringed in orange

The verdict by use case

  • Best free theme to start a store on

    Horizon

    Its published code has a skip link, a visible focus ring on every control, a cart drawer that holds and returns focus, and a text colour setting that only applies where contrast is sufficient.

  • Best when someone asks for a written report

    Dawn

    It is the only theme here with a published accessibility conformance report against WCAG 2.1 A and AA, though that report covers a 2021 version, so ask Shopify for a current one.

  • Best paid theme with a written promise behind it

    Prestige (Maestrooo)

    Its maker states that if a store using the theme receives an ADA lawsuit, its support team will help fix the issues the theme causes.

Side by side

Scroll sideways to see all vendors.

What six Shopify theme makers document about the parts of accessibility a theme controls
RequirementHorizonDawnPrestige (Maestrooo)Stiletto (Fluorescent)Galleria (Mile High Themes)Be Yours (RoarTheme)
Names a WCAG version and level as its targetNot statedYesNot statedNot statedNoNot stated
Publishes an ACR (a completed VPAT) for the themeNoYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Skip link, in the maker's docs or published codeYesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Visible keyboard focus, in docs or published codeYesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Menu and cart drawer coded for the keyboard (focus held, Escape closes)YesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Colour settings guard text contrastYesNot statedNoNoNot statedNot stated
An accessibility help page for store ownersYesYesYesYesYesNot stated
Warns that apps can undo the theme's accessibilityNot statedNot statedYesYesYesNot stated

The vendors

Horizon

What it is
Shopify's own free theme, which its source page calls the flagship of a new generation of Shopify themes.
Who it fits
A new store that wants a free start whose accessibility code you, or a developer, can read line by line.
  • Skip link in published codeYes
  • Visible focus in published codeYes
  • Cart drawer holds and returns focusYes
  • Colour settings guard text contrastYes
  • Published ACR for this themeNo

Horizon in the Shopify Theme Store

Dawn

What it is
Shopify's earlier free reference theme, still listed and updated, and the one theme Shopify has a conformance report for.
Who it fits
A store whose buyer, landlord or insurer asks for a written accessibility report on the theme itself.
  • Names WCAG 2.1 A and AA as its targetYes
  • Published ACR for this themeYes
  • Skip link in the report and codeYes
  • Report covers the current versionNo
  • Colour settings guard text contrastNot stated

Shopify's accessibility report for Dawn

Prestige (Maestrooo)

What it is
A paid theme for premium brands; its listing calls it an accessibility-focused theme.
Who it fits
A brand that wants a paid theme whose maker states in writing it will help fix theme-caused issues after a lawsuit.
  • Names a WCAG level as its targetNot stated
  • Help page on accessibilityYes
  • Helps fix theme-caused issues after a lawsuitYes
  • Colour settings guard text contrastNo
  • Skip link in its docsNot stated

Maestrooo's accessibility notes for Prestige

Stiletto (Fluorescent)

What it is
A paid fashion and lifestyle theme whose maker keeps an accessibility page in each theme's documentation.
Who it fits
An owner who wants a paid theme with plain written guidance on what stays the owner's job.
  • Names WCAG as the standard it aims forYes
  • Names a WCAG level as its targetNot stated
  • Colour settings guard text contrastNo
  • Warns that apps can undo itYes
  • Skip link in its docsNot stated

Fluorescent's accessibility notes for Stiletto

Galleria (Mile High Themes)

What it is
A paid theme for large catalogues; its maker's help centre answers the ADA question directly.
Who it fits
An owner who prefers a maker that says plainly what it does not promise, and plans an audit anyway.
  • Names a WCAG level as its targetNo
  • Help page on accessibilityYes
  • Warns that apps can undo itYes
  • Skip link in its docsNot stated

Mile High Themes' accessibility FAQ

Be Yours (RoarTheme)

What it is
A paid theme for beauty, skincare and fragrance brands; its listing promises an accessible design.
Who it fits
A beauty brand drawn to its design, ready to ask the maker for specifics before buying.
  • Names a WCAG level as its targetNot stated
  • Help page on accessibilityNot stated
  • Skip link in its docsNot stated
  • What “accessible design” coversCheck with the vendor

Be Yours in the Shopify Theme Store

The floor every Theme Store theme has to clear

Before any of these themes was listed, Shopify reviewed it against a written list. Two parts of that list are about accessibility: a set of rules every theme must follow, and an average Lighthouse accessibility score of at least 90 across the home, product and collection pages, on desktop and mobile. So no listed theme starts from nothing. The table maps each rule to the WCAG success criterion it comes closest to.

Scroll sideways to see all columns.

What Shopify's Theme Store review requires of every listed theme, and what it only recommends
Theme Store ruleNearest WCAG criterionIn the review
All parts of a page are keyboard accessible, dropdown navigation included2.1.1 KeyboardRequired
Focusable elements show a visible focus state2.4.7 Focus VisibleRequired
Keyboard focus order matches the DOM order2.4.3 Focus OrderRequired
Every image has an alt attribute1.1.1 Non-text ContentRequired
Form inputs have labels tied to them3.3.2 Labels or InstructionsRequired
Body text at 4.5:1; large text, borders and icons at 3:11.4.3 Contrast (Minimum); 1.4.11 Non-text ContrastRequired
Pointer targets at least 24 by 24 CSS pixels2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum)Required
Average Lighthouse accessibility score of 90 on home, product and collection pagesNone: an automated scoreRequired
A skip link that shows when focused2.4.1 Bypass BlocksRecommended only
Drawers keep focus inside, close on Escape and return focus2.4.3 Focus OrderRecommended only

Two things a keyboard user meets in the first minute are only in Shopify's best-practice guide, not in the review list: a skip link that shows when focused, and a cart drawer that keeps focus inside, closes on Escape and hands focus back to the button that opened it. That is why the comparison above asks for them separately. Our guides on skip links and visible focus show what good looks like.

A score of 90 is not a pass

Lighthouse is an automated check, and DOJ's web guidance says a “clean” report from an automated checker does not necessarily mean everything is accessible. Treat the floor as a start, not as proof your store meets WCAG 2.1 AA.

What our scan of the demo stores found

Every listing links to a live demo store, so we ran the same automated check on each demo's home page and pressed Tab once on a fresh load. This is a snapshot of one page, not an audit. Demo content counts too: a product photo with no alt text is the demo builder's content as much as the theme's code. Four demos also ran an older version than the one on sale.

Scroll sideways to see all columns.

Our scan of each theme's demo home page on 22 October 2026: automated WCAG A and AA fails found by axe
Theme demoVersion on the demoRules failedElements flaggedMost flagged ruleFirst Tab stop
Horizon3.2.0310scrollable-region-focusableSkip to content
Dawn15.0.019color-contrastSkip to content
Prestige11.4.1414target-sizeSkip to content
Stiletto6.2.0415image-altA slider arrow; the skip link is the third stop
Galleria3.4.03 to 447 to 48link-nameThe search link; no skip link found
Be Yours9.5.1422color-contrastSkip to content

The counts are not a ranking. Dawn's one failing rule is low colour contrast on nine elements; the Galleria demo's 45 links with no name are most of its total. What the table does show is the first Tab stop: four demos put a skip link there, Stiletto's comes after two slider arrows, and we found none on the Galleria demo. Walk your own shortlist with the focus order checklist; it takes ten minutes per demo and catches what no scan can.

No theme here is called compliant

A scan with few fails does not mean a theme conforms to WCAG, and many fails do not mean it cannot. The fails on a live store depend on your content, your colours and your apps.

Check the colours you pick, because most themes will not

Two of the makers say outright that colour is your job: their themes let you pick any colour, so a pale gold button with white text goes live without a warning. Horizon is the exception we found; its text colour setting only applies where the contrast is sufficient. Enter the scheme you are planning and every pair a shopper reads is measured.

Check your theme's colour scheme

Copy the hex codes from the theme editor's colour scheme. Pre-filled with a cream and gold boutique scheme.

  • Body text on the pageNeeds 4.5:1 under 1.4.313.25:1Passes
  • Button label on the buttonNeeds 4.5:1 under 1.4.33.09:1Fails
  • Sale badge text on the badgeNeeds 4.5:1 under 1.4.33.68:1Fails
  • Input border against the pageNeeds 3:1 under 1.4.111.55:1Fails

1 of 4 pairs pass. Change: button label on the button; sale badge text on the badge; input border against the page.

In the pre-filled scheme, darkening the button to #8A6A3B lifts its white label to 4.99:1; a badge of #C2410C reaches 5.18:1; and an input border of #8C8577 clears 3:1 at 3.43:1. For one pair at a time, with the nearest passing shade, use the contrast check; to test a whole brand palette, the palette check.

What stays your job after you pick a theme

A theme controls the code around your content. The content is yours: Shopify's help centre has you add alt text to product images in the admin and to theme images in the theme editor, keep headings in order, and keep link styles in place. Our alt text examples cover product photos, and the guide to an accessible Shopify store walks the rest of the store page by page.

Checkout is Shopify's, not the theme's, and Shopify publishes a conformance report for it against WCAG 2.2 A and AA. Apps are the part nobody else owns. Three makers here warn that an app can undo the theme's work, so test after each one you add. An accessibility widget app is not a fix: it changes the page in the visitor's browser and leaves your theme's code as it was, which our page on accessibility overlays explains.

Quick reference

  • Start from a theme whose skip link, focus and drawer code you can see.
  • Check every colour pair you choose; most themes leave that to you.
  • Write alt text for every product photo in the admin.
  • Re-test after each app, and never add a widget in place of a fix.
  • Before a big launch, or after a demand letter, book one of the WCAG audit services.

How we compared

Vendor pages read on

We took Shopify's two free reference themes and four paid themes from different makers whose listings or help pages talk about accessibility. Each status word comes from the theme's Theme Store listing, the maker's own help pages or, for Shopify's themes, the source code Shopify publishes. “Not stated” means we did not find it there, not that the theme lacks it. A listing's “accessible design” is reported as the maker's words, never as a Yes.

The scan of demo stores is our own, run with axe-core on 22 October 2026, and it is a count of automated fails on one page, not a verdict. We list no accessibility widget apps and print no prices.

Verdicts are editorial: no vendor can buy a verdict position or displace another vendor.

No overlay widget is listed. By an overlay we mean a third-party widget or toolbar script sold as making a site conform without changing its source. In April 2025 the FTC approved a final order that bars one overlay vendor from claiming, without evidence to support it, that its automated products can make any website WCAG-compliant. Read the FTC's announcement of the order.

Nothing here is legal advice. For a specific case, ask a lawyer.

Questions

Is there an ADA compliant Shopify theme?

No theme can be, on its own. DOJ has no regulation setting detailed web standards for businesses open to the public, and nobody certifies a theme. What a theme can do is give you code that helps your store meet WCAG 2.1 AA once your content, colours and apps are right too. Even Shopify's own report on Dawn rates some criteria as only partly supported.

This is general information, not legal advice. For your own situation, ask a lawyer.

Should I pick Horizon or Dawn?

For a new store, Horizon: Shopify calls it the flagship of its newer themes, and its colour setting guards text contrast. Dawn is the one with a written report, but that report covers version 2.4.0 from November 2021 while the Theme Store now sells version 16.1.0. If someone needs a report, ask Shopify whether a newer one exists, and read our guide to what an ACR says before you rely on it.

Does the Theme Store check accessibility before a theme is listed?

Yes, against a short list: keyboard access including dropdown menus, visible focus, alt attributes, labelled form fields, text contrast of 4.5:1, focus order, 24 by 24 pixel targets and an average Lighthouse accessibility score of 90. A skip link is not on that list.

Will an accessibility app make my theme compliant?

No. A widget app adds a toolbar or script on top of the page and leaves the theme's code unchanged, and the FTC has acted against one overlay vendor's compliance claims. Fix the theme and the content instead; our alternatives to accessiBe page lists what to use.

I run WordPress as well. Is the advice the same?

The tests are the same: skip link, focus, keyboard menus, contrast. WordPress adds an optional manual review that lets a theme carry the “accessibility-ready” tag, which we cover in WordPress accessibility plugins and themes.